Signature Pretzel MMmmm Cookies

I have been working for year on making a signature dessert. I have mentioned before that have a strange addition to baking and there is nothing quite as satisfying as having people rush to you at a party exclaiming “These are delicious!” or “You are such a great baker!” or occasionally “What’s your secret ingredient?” to which I always respond “Love” but in reality is “butter and 2 different types of sugar”. When I began venturing away from the recipe book a few years ago and starting to make my own creations, I started to think about how great it would be to have a dessert that people linked to me. I wanted to be that person who was invited to a party and the host thinks to herself “I hope she brings a batch of those delicious _______”. And one day, after a particularly long few hours of stress baking, it came to me. My own cookie recipe. Disclaimer: This is a big world so there is a chance that there is another person out there in the world who also have a similar or even the exact same cookie recipe that I am about to present. But it actually leads me to my next point. I was going to keep this a secret. It was going to be my own, just for me. But that I realized how sad that was. I thought about how the point of baking is to share sweetness to everyone. I thought that a delicious cookie could make a bad day into a good day and even be considered comfort food during the worst of times. So I knew that I had to share.

Happy Baking!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 1 stick of butter (soften at room temperature)
  • 1/2 cup of coconut oil (room temperature)
  • 2 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup of coconut sugar
  • 1 Tbsp of Dark Molasses
  • 1 tsp of vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 bag of Pretzel M&Ms (I have yet to try this with just regular M&Ms and pretzels but I’m sure it would work fine)

1) Preheat the oven to 375 F

2) Combine butter, coconut oil, both sugars, molasses and vanilla into a smooth paste

3) Add Eggs in one at a time, mixing in between

4) Mix in the baking soda and salt

5) Gradually add in the flour until everything is well combined

6) Put all of the M&Ms into a blender and pulse into a powder with a few chunkier pieces (FYI this makes a TERRIBLE noise but just power through)

7) Incorporate the pretzel-chocolate powder into the batter until everything is combined

8) Put this mixture in the refrigerator for 15 minutes

9) Roll the chilled batter into 1 inch balls and place the evenly along a baking pan lined with wax paper

10) Bake for 13 minutes

11) Resist the temptation to eat them right off of the hot baking pan and let them cool for 10 minutes

12) Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

