Do I sleep too much?

I feel like I have spent most of my life asleep. Seriously though. I know for humans to function we need 8-9 solid hours of sleep to get through the day but considering we only get 24 hours, that’s a lot. Maybe even too much? I personally wish I could function on less. Not in the way I used to in college where I would stay up for 48 hours at a time after shot gunning Red Bulls but I do think I could get a lot more in my life done, if I could get those extra 3 or 4 hours back. However, it’s quite a paradox though because I do love sleep. Sleep is one of my favorites right behind writing, reading books and eating anything covered in chocolate or cheese. It’s more of the dreaming aspect that I love so much. The concept of it. Even though I can’t remember my dreams half the time, I feel that it’s when my brain is at the peak of it’s creativity. My favorites are the lucky and very rare nights I am able to lucid dream. It’s pure imagination, but better than a Willy Wonka and his chocolate factory (although, there are very few things better than a chocolate factory). But I just wish I could do it more…efficiently, for lack of a better word. I feel like I am wasting valuable time just sleeping. I think of all the things I could accomplish if I could only needed 3 hours of sleep, or I just needed to sleep once a day. Do anyone else fell like this? Like you are literally sleeping your life away.

~C

Leave a Reply

