The One Thing I’m Not Confused About

So I read. A lot. I have always loved books, they are one of my favorite things second only to writing. Books have to power to entertain, stir emotions and inspire all at once. Today’s post isn’t going to be a funny anecdote and it’s not going to be about something I am confused about. Actually quite the opposite because books are one of the very few things in this world that actually make complete sense to me. Books have influenced me and made me the person that I am today, the person that I love.

These are the four books that have completely changed my life. All of these books were passed on to me and so now, I will continue to pass them on to you.

  1. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

I read this book in one sitting. Seriously. I sat for almost 6 hours and finished this book. This is the second book by Mr. Hosseini; his first and more famous book “The Kite Runner” was pretty good but didn’t connect to me in the same way this one did. It tells the story of two Afghan women with very different lives, a generation apart, who come together after a series of intense events. A story of love, friendship, hardship, overcoming and sacrifice, A Thousand Splendid taught me that things don’t always work out but if you stay strong and are confident in who you are, you will never lose yourself and sometimes that the more important.

  1. Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris

David Sedaris is probably one of my favorite people ever, all of his books are fantastically hilarious but this one is particular had ,e laughing out loud almost every chapter. Sedaris writes mostly about humorous short stories from his past and I can’t really describe this book in detail without ruining the experience for a new reader but a few topics this book covers includes is his time as a performance artist, getting guitar lessons from a little person in his youth and his experience with his father being an expired food hoarder. I had the amazing pleasure of meeting Mr. Sedaris after one of his live shows I smiled and laughed so much in those 3 minutes, my face actually hurt afterwards. Me Talk Pretty taught me to laugh more and keep record of those moments which is what mainly inspired me to start this blog in the first place.

  1. The Secret History by Donna Tartt

At the moment, Tartt is most famous for her current book “The Goldfinch” which itself is fantastic and truly a masterpiece but The Secret History  is the one that I find myself reaching for to reread. The story is about six college students, during the time when one of them is murder by the other five. There are insane twist and turns, extreme highs as well as extreme low and it makes you question what it means to be happy.  It’s very dark, which I know isn’t for everyone but I personally loved it. It’s a classic tragedy with a modern twist and one of those books that is hard to put down once you start.  The Secret History taught me about sadness, death and acceptance which although are not the happiest of topics are ones that need to be faced.

  1. Going Bovine by Libba Bray

This is my favorite book of all time. The story of a young boy who gets mad cow disease and then after taking the advice of a girl with wings that only he seem to see, goes on the most epic adventure his life trying to find the cure. Bray balances on the fine life that separates imagination and realty and truly makes you think. This books has everything. My favorite quote from the book is “Reality is what you make of it.” and I have never been able to find a better phrase to live my life by.  Who’s to say what is real and was is not but as long as you make the most of what you are given, does it really matter? I also had the amazing privilege of meeting Ms. Bray at the National Book  Festival last year and the message she wrote for me before she signed my book is that valuable lesson that Going Bovine taught me: “Enjoy the Ride”.

Putting the Fuse in Confused,

C

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thingsarebookingup
    Jan 08, 2016 @ 03:14:31

    Great post. I keep meaning to read the Kite Runner and not doing it. I’ll have to check out Splendid Suns, too! -Emmy

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

