Coffee Break

I am addicted to coffee, that itself is no secret. Tea and soda do almost nothing for me but a good strong cup of freshly brewed coffee gives me life. However, there was a short period of time in my life when I gave up coffee. It wasn’t during lent and it wasn’t because I was on some crazy diet. It was because of one specific event in my life that still makes me cringe when I think about it.

I was a young college student just about to go into my organic chemistry class. Heavy backpack slung over my shoulder, dark circles under my eyes and a cup of coffee from the library Greenberry’s in my hand. I was exhausted and grumpy. Orgo was my hardest class at school and every time I walked into that little room I felt like the life was literally being sucked out of me. Begrudgingly, I found an empty seat and pulled down that awkward retractable desk so I could set my coffee down. Class began as usual and about half way through, I had to pee. One of the more unfortunate side effects of caffeine is it how it makes me have to run to the bathroom round the clock. Not wanted to make too much of a distraction, I thought the best thing for me to do was place my coffee on ground and duck out under my desk. I sunk out and when I returned and sat down, I saw that my peer next to me was staring at me. It wasn’t one of those day dream stares or even one of those “why do you always seem to have to pee during this class?” stares. It was one of… oh what’s the word…Pity. “What?” I whispered. He stared for a another second, as if your effect. “Your coffee fell.”

I felt my heart drop as one important fact flashed through my mind, almost like one of these NCIS flashbacks when they review the scene of the crime. Our classroom is at a downward slant that goes all the way down to the ground. I looked down and saw my coffee tipped over and pouring dark liquid down in-between the seats of all of the people in front of me before landing in a little pool right at the base of the backpack of a girl in the front row. First, I was really irritated at my peer. “Why didn’t you do anything?” I hissed as I grabbed my coffee to put it right side up. He shrugged. “Wasn’t my coffee.” Okay, seriously?! At that moment he lost 1000 human decency point in my book but I didn’t have enough time to be pissed. People had begun to notice and turning at pointing at me. I tried to signal at the girl in the front row with no avail. So I waited until class was over and then I sprinted to the girl, spurting out apologizes and offering to clean it up and pay for any damages. She was having none of it, made some condescending comment that I blocked out of my memory and walked away with her friend who gave me evil eyes. Understandably so, I probably would have done the same thing but at the moment I wanted to crawl under one of those desks and just die.

I know, a bit of an exaggeration. Especially since now, I can think of at least 10 things I could have done that would have been better than just sitting at my desk, waiting for the class to end/hoping that the problem would somehow fix itself. Because that’s how the real world works right? If you ignore the problem at hand, one day you will be able to look back at it and hate yourself forever. That’s what being an adult is all about.

Putting the Fuse in Confused,

C

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. myprettylittlestethoscope
    Nov 28, 2015 @ 16:13:25

    At least you tried to do the right thing.

    Like

    Reply

  2. carolineturriff
    Nov 28, 2015 @ 17:00:48

    Never give up coffee! It’s like a suit of armour you put on in the morning to tackle the world. I may have given up cocaine, alcohol, bulimia, self-harm and searching in my laundry basket for serial killers but I will never, ever, give up coffee! http://bit.ly/1ER5cLY

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

