It All Makes Sense Now

Everyone has those really hard weeks where you have a million things to do at once and that to-do list that doesn’t seem to be getting any shorter. There is a lot of coffee drinking, a lot of chocolate eating and a lot of headaches. I had one of these busy weeks very recently but this one was different to the ones that I had experienced before. You see, no matter what I did, I felt like I was depleted of energy. Sure, I was always moving and bouncing from one project to another but I was still sleeping enough at night and drinking more than enough coffee throughout the day. So why did find myself dozing off during all my breaks (and once during a meeting)? Maybe I was getting older, or maybe I was getting sick? Nope. The answer was right in front of me and, it was a really stupid one. One morning, I dragged myself out of bed and crawled down the stairs to get ready to go to work. I had a pounding headaches this morning, again from a combination of drinking too much caffeine and not enough water, so I went to take another one of my choice of painkiller. I don’t want to call it out by brand but I will say that comes in a blue pill form and it that rhymes with “Schmadvil”. I reached into the big bottle when my mom came down the stairs and gave me a funny look. “What?” I asked. “Nothing….just, why are you taking my sleeping medication?” she says. What? I looked at the bottle. It didn’t say “Schmadvil Headache”, it said “Schmadvil PM”. Every morning I was taking medicine that is powerful enough to help borderline insomniacs sleep at night. I don’t know what annoyed me more, the fact that I had been taking sleeping medicine all week or that this was so typical of me that when I told people, nobody was surprised.

Putting the Fuse in Confused,

C

Leave a Reply

