Salty-Sweet Cycle

I have to start this post off with a disclaimer. I am sure that I am not the first person to discover this and thus am not coining this term. Actually… I’m positive that I didn’t discover this because someone else actually told me their personal take on this a few years ago. Well now that we are off to a good start, let’s get on to the point. It is not secret that I love to eat. I tell people that my spirit animal is a Hobbit. I typically eat 5 or 6 small meals throughout the day. This basically means I almost never stop eating. I like to blame this on what I call the “Salty-Sweet Cycle” which I am sure some of you have also suffered from. So I’ll explain.

Whenever I eat something flavorful, rich or salty, my sweet-tooth starts acting up. Then once I eat something sweet or sugary, guess what happens. I want something salty. It never ends. I’ll give you a small scale example. It’s mid afternoon, I just had a lovely second lunch of leftover chicken salad with a balsamic vinaigrette dressing. Then suddenly I need a cookie. I guess I should make this clear that I don’t “want” a cookie. I “need” a cookie. So I will have a chocolate chip cookie. Then I head back to the pantry and grab a handful of pretzels. I get half way through the handful before I get out the jar of Nutella to dip my pretzels in. Once the pretzels are gone, cashews and in my hand. By this point, it’s almost time for early dinner and who knows if I’ll be hungry for late supper. And it’s not ever a hunger issue with me. I can be very full and still crave either the salty or the sweet.

There have been situations in my life when it has affected my relationships. Roommates that are baffled “How is there room for more pizza after we just finished the chocolate cake?”, family members that are in acceptance “What? Only 6 servings? Are you not feeling well?” and then the friends who just think I’m weird. “No, I don’t think I want to go out for ice cream, I’m am so stuffed. Ummmm, sure. I guess you can still get ice cream during my birthday dinner.” So for anyone else out there suffering from the Salty-Sweet Cycle, I am here to tell you that YOU ARE NOT ALONE. Unless, this doesn’t happen to anyone else ever. Then I guess I am alone… I’m going to grab some popcorn and gummy worms as I think about that.

Putting the Fuse in Confused,

C

Leave a Reply

